• The Vibe

Curve's Dean Garcia and Mark Walbridge present Inkräktare 'We Are Not Really Here' LP

Updated: Dec 24, 2019

"A relentless and menacing free fall into an abyss of grinding, churning, and swirling feedback-steeped distortion... Like a fiery apparition sunken in the glowing depths of an inferno, ominous vocals emanate that occasionally reach out towards a flicker of the blue sky above" The Big Takeover

Electronic maverick producer Dean Garcia (Curve, SPC ECO, S T F U, Blurred City Lights) is back with his new Inkräktare album, together with Mark Wallbridge (a.k.a. Vasko The Pig). Titled 'We Are Not Really Here', this long-play presents uplifting collective noise that embodies the collaborative concept. After teasing videos for the tracks 'Husk' and 'Saphirr Bomb', they present their fresh video for 'Free The World' featuring Rose Berlin of SPC ECO.

Ten years have passed since the release of the first Inkräktare album 'You Have Reached Your Destination', an intentionally low key release. With their new album, the pair have raised the bar through the roof to create something far more inclusive, focused and defined. Maverick producer and multi-instrumentalist Dean Garcia is in full flow with this record. Like it or not, Dean has the gift of mood-enhancing magic about him - here we find those skills in full force. Dean's very specific and particular expertise, combined with Mark's militantly distorted art-scape sound pools not only guide but drive the recordings at full autobahn pace through a world of abstract, yet very tonal and suggestive aural mood swings.

Joining the Inkräktare voice dots here are the interstellar vocal talents of Rose Berlin (SPC ECO) and Preston Maddox (Bloody Knives and S T F U), as well as vocal contributions from Mark and Dean. As with the previous release, there's an unpredictable voice element at play here. From the albums opening song 'Speak Out Loud' to the album's closer 'Could There Be', you get a very broad sense of mood vocals from all.

"This is a very different kind of collaboration in terms of how the ideas are formed and realised than anything I've done before. The original soundscapes that Mark sends me are not fully formed as such in any way, they have form but it's very abstract, ie no specific arrangements, middles, bridges chorus's etc, they are open to interpretation to my ear and can therefor go anywhere, unstructured and unrestricted or constrained by a pre conceived template. My connection to them is very much from a tonal point of view, the aim is to magnify what's there by developing a more defined structure by means of bass and drums or anything I feel works," says Dean Garcia.

"It's like someone giving you an abstract painting and allowing the other to somehow make it more defined, but still maintain and allow the original source to breathe and shine through. What's fascinating to me is the way that process happens. I connect in such a particular way that, instead of having to really try or think about how to merge the two, it just happens on its own instinctively because the original backdrop is so strong with its unique built-in art-mosphere. It allows me to just let loose and expand or try things that I otherwise would not. I've always said the key to making something you love is to allow these unstructured free-fall on-the0fly no-fucks-given elements into the recording process.

When they happen or you allow and embrace this approach, you'll get something deeper, more expressive and original. Working with Mark's sound ideas does exactly that - it not only encourages this, but almost taunts or dares you to open up and go there."

As with all of Garcia's projects and collaborations, there's a certain hi-brow air and confidence about the recordings, offering mood-laden sculptured and alternative influenced sonidelica. Fun fact: Inkräktare are the only UK band with a Swedish name (translates as Intruder).

'We Are Not Really Here' will be released exclusively on Bandcamp and Spotify on December 1. A six-track cassette and an undisclosed 7" single will also be released in early 2020.

TRACK LIST 01 Speak Out Loud 02 Say Goodbye To You 03 Terrified 04 The Night Growls 05 Free The World 06 We Are Broken 07 We Are Not Really Here 08 Who Cares 09 Saphirr Bomb 10 Husk 11 Could There Be?

CREDITS Produced and Mixed by Dean Garcia at ELaB Recorded and Engineered by Dean Garcia and Mark Wallbridge Recorded at ELaB and V Pig Studios 2019

Written and Performed by: Mark Wallbridge - Guitars, voice (4/8/10), Keys FX and 3D cluster drones Rose Berlin - Voice and lyrics (1/3/5/6/8) Dean Garcia - Bass, drums, keys, voice (9/11), keys and programming Preston Maddox - Voice and lyrics (2)

Cover Image by InK LaB All rights reserved and owned by Inkräktare Published by Inkräktare PPL UK - PRS Dedicated to the collective consciousness

All photos by Mark Wallace

Keep up with Inkräktare Facebook | Bandcamp | YouTube | Twitter | Spotify | Press contact

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | Spotify | LinkedIn | Email

News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR