• The Vibe

Dreamy elecronic indie outfit The Mystery Plan present their 'Zsa Zsa' album

"A chilled, dreamy, hypnotic sound... and the Beth Gibbons-esque vocals of Amy Herring" Overblown Magazine

"Pure sensual dreamtronica awash in haunting melodies. It's guaranteed to set the serotonin flowing in the farthest recesses of any late night minds"Guitar Magazine

"If you were ever a fan of Thievery Corporation, Solar Fields, Groove Armada, Cinematic Orchestra, or even the 4AD iconic collective This Mortal Coil, this is one band you should know about... a delicious smorgasbord for varied tastes - from chill out to dark dreamery and even massively beautiful modern classical music with a near-mystifying delivery"The Big Takeover Magazine

The Mystery Planpresent their new album 'Zsa Zsa'- their fifth overall - which is being released via American boutique labelTen Millimeter Omega Recordings.

Ahead of this, they released their single'Ballad of JC Quinn', with accompanying video filmed by Jason Herring and edited by Jay Thomas, and the infectious Massive Attack-esque single'Al Gore Rhythms'.

Produced by the legendaryJohn FryerandJason Herring, this record also features such notable guests asMicah Gaugh (The Veldt / Apollo Heights), Ian Masters, That Guy Smitty andSnap Nation. This is not the first time The Mystery Plan has worked with Fryer, having previously collaborated on their fourth full-length release'Queensland Ballroom', released in late 2017, and the'Electric Love'single.

Based in Charlotte, NC, the band is comprised ofJason Herring, Amy Herring, Jeff Chester, Otis Hughes and Patty McLaughlin. Since forming in 2010, they've managed to release 10 EPs and LPs combined.

"JC Quinnwas an actor from NYC with many film and television credits, including "Barfly", "the Abyss", "Visionquest" and countless others. He moved to Charlotte in the late 1990s to be closer to his grandchildren. We met at a downtown watering hole called Cafe 521, owned and operated by his good friend from New York, Peter Herrero. That's where I met JC, along with many other actors, such as Leonardo DiCaprio, Bernadette Peters, etc.. They would always stop at the café when in town to visit their good friend Peter," says Jason Herring.

"JC and I struck up a nice friendship. He was a fan of ours and would come to shows and stand right up front so we could see him. A very lovely man indeed. Sadly, JC died in Mexico while shooting a film a few years ago. I've always wanted to pay tribute to him, and we have finally done so with this song. The lyrics are a blend of what we would do with him now if he were still here, and iconic lines from some of his films."

'Zsa Zsa' was recorded at Catalyst Recording and various local studios over a 2+ year stretch following a number of Southeast U.S. tours in promotion of the band's'Queensland Ballroom'album. This new record touches of several different styles - everything from deep mellow shoegaze and folky ambient to upbeat dancable trip-hop and electronica.

'Zsa Zsa' finds the quintet moving further afield of its earlier psych-folk leaning to land on something more akin to the down-tempo approach of Portishead and Zero 7, mixed with early 4AD action. That later is in no small part due to the return of band collaborator, producer John Fryer (too many A-list credits to list here), and new Mystery Plan friend Ian    Masters, former bassist-vocalist of influential British shoegazers Pale Saints.

As of April 3, the 'Zsa Zsa' albumwill be available everywhere digitally, includingSpotify, as well as on CD. It can be ordered directly from the band viaBandcamp.


Written by Jason Herring and Amy Herring

Produced and mixed by Jason Herring and Rob Tavaglione at Catalyst Recording, Charlotte.

Vocals by Amy Herring and Patty McLaughlin

Bass by Otis Hughes

Drums/percussion by Jefferson Chester

Guitars/keyboards/programming by Jason Herring

Lap-steel guitars by Peter McCranie

Cover art by Clear Design

Band photography by Daniel Coston


1.  Those Stars

2.  We All Get Down

3.  Al Gore Rhythms

4.  Ballad of JC Quinn

5.  Lolaphone

6.  Bonny

7.  Long Way To Heaven

8.  Sweet Tart  

9.  Electric Love

10 We All Get Down (Rob Tavaglione mix)  

11 Distant Sirens

Keep up with The Mystery Plan

Facebook|Label FB|Twitter|Soundcloud|Spotify|YouTube|Reverbnation|Press contact

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR

Website |Facebook|Twitter|Soundcloud|Instagram|Spotify|LinkedIn|Email

News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR