• The Vibe


'Phases’ is the second single taken from KEYS ‘bedroom’ recorded album ‘HOME SCHOOLING: A collection of 4-track rarities’.  As Matthew Evans (vocals / guitar / songwriter) explains:

“Phases – When you start realising that these songs were going to be recorded somewhat intimately into a 4-track machine, it has an impact on the type of song you write. As Julian Cope says ‘The verses can lie if the chorus is pretty’. This is one of the most introspective tunes we’ve written. It’s the Lennonesque chords; they insist on a blue feeling.”

HOME SCHOOLING is proof of the importance of the spaces left between the integral notes, the spaces that let the songs breathe. The songs range from joyous early 70s Midlands pop, bucolic chamber pop, sweeping Krautrock grooves, fractured Big Star/Bad Finger songcraft to vamping 2 chord proto-punk freak-outs.

Through it all we hear the hiss of the 4-track cassette recorder turning, the sound of the endless possibilities and magic of the pop song spilling out in vivid colours . No second guessing or over thinking, only the joy of creating.”

Matthew summarises the collection of songs that make up ‘HOME SCHOOLING’ as “something to help us get through this lockdown. Hopefully you can use it too.”

The single 'Phases' is out August 7th, with the album 'HOME SCHOOLING': A Collection of 4-Track Rarities' to follow on August 21st, on Libertino Records.

Tracklisting: KEYS - 'Home Schooling'

01. This Side Of Luv

02. Phases

03. The Strain

04. Cold Hands

05. Cargoes

06. Trick Of The Light

07. Your Name Across My Heart

08. Leave Your Mind Behind

09. Home Schooling

10. Pressure Cooker



News story provided by Beast PR