• The Vibe

Lazaris Pit presents 'You Don’t Tag Me In Memes Anymore', the first single from the new album

"Lazaris Pit takes us on a journey to the past, while firmly grounded in the present – their raucous live aesthetic summons the spirit and vibe of Dinosaur Jr., Weezer, The Dubrovniks and Green Day, with a dose of wit from Ween or Sultans of Ping. This is the sound that has become a classic college rock staple for a good reason – the same reason why ‘Memes’ and ‘Cloudsculpting’ should be your daily wake-up call or motivation music"Big Takeover Magazine

Raleigh-based rock outfitLazaris Pithave announced they will release their new'Coniphers' album. Ahead of that, they present the lead single'You Don’t Tag Me In Memes Anymore', a modern-day break-up song, often detached from the moments that make life worth living and musing on the deeper workings of it all with the grim reality that someone important has moved on. They also present avideo rendition of this single, live in Athens, Georgia.

The B-side'Cloudsculpting'showcases another facet of this album, evoking the image of spending a dreamy tranquil day, gazing up at the clouds and imagining what it might be like to live peacefully high up in the fluff and blue sky.

Formed in June 2017, this self-named "pack of cosmic dogs" consists ofEly "Salted Sweet Cream" Yarbrough(guitar and lead vocals),Cameron "Sugarfoot" Preston(bass) andJon "Dok Tok" Castro (drums and backing vocals).

'Our album 'Coniphers' is named after a brother of ours lost along the way. Included are 8 tracks of the good stuff, heady grooves and sweet pop tunes, funk breakdowns to zero gravity ambience…. 42 minutes of rock n roll," saysCameron Preston.

"Lead track 'You Don’t Tag Me In Memes Anymore' is a microcosm of the album as a whole, embodying our familiar Lazaris Pit sound. Is 'Memes' a pop song with a punk twist or is it a shoegaze song with some pep in its step? We aren’t quite sure what to call it, but we know it has been lighting up faces whenever mentioned and burning down dance floors when played live," saysEly Yarbrough.

'Coniphers' was recorded live in studio from November 2019 to January 2020, showcasing a band playing like a pack of hungry dogs, sinking their teeth into a meaty T-bone for the first time in ages. Recorded and mixed byArtem SmirnovatCommon Thread Studiosin Raleigh with additional engineering and creative input fromMichael GrazianoandMatt Graham, this album was mastered byAlexander KretovatUmmagma Studio.

Lazaris Pit freely improvises a dreamy blend of punk, funk, soul, psychedelia, reggae, jazz, noise, and ambience into a one-of-a-kind dance party. The result: a mind meld of musical tapestries that take the listener on an emotional journey through time and space, and ourselves in the process.

They've brought their unique brand of rock-n-roll far and wide, having played shows up and down the east coast and southeast from Philly to Atlanta and New York to New Orleans, their sound filling large festival fields, historic college campuses, and the most intimate of dive bars and clubs.

Noting music aesthetic and sound inspirations in the sense of a launch pad rather than as blueprints, Lazaris Pit' counts Fugazi and Grateful Dead among their inspirations, as well as classic R&B, Phish, Curtis Mayfield, Cream, Pink Floyd, Ween, George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic, Primus, Flaming Lips, Talking Heads, Sonic Youth and Yo La Tengo.

As of April 24, 'You Don’t Tag Me In Memes Anymore' will be available everywhere digitally, includingSpotifyandApple Music. The full 'Coniphers' album will be released on May 22.


1. One Too Many Mornings

2. Conipher’s Song

3. You Don’t Tag Me In Memes Anymore  - (first single)

4. The First Schism of Porchlessnessism

5. Cloudsculpting

6. Landfall

7. Flow

8. Our Trip to NYC (Late Nights with Jim Donovan)


Recorded and mixed by Artem Smirnov at Common Thread Studios, Raleigh NC

Additional engineering and creative input from Michael Graziano and Matt Graham

Mastered by Alex Kretov at Ummagma Studio

Album artwork by Nicole “Henry Gozoozu” Boyle

All lyrics and music by Lazaris Pit (Yarbrough, Preston, Castro)

Photos by Travis Merchant

News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR

Keep up with Lazaris Pit

Website|Bandcamp|Facebook|Twitter|Instagram|YouTube|Spotify|Apple Music|Press contact

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR

Website |Facebook|Twitter|Soundcloud|Instagram|Spotify|LinkedIn|Email