• The Vibe

Mayflower Madame previews 'Swallow', second single from 'Prepared For A Nightmare' LP

"Deeply atmospheric psychedelia" Clash Magazine "A feverish nod to Black Rebel Motorcycle Club... the spacey menace of early Verve"Q Magazine "The love child of post-punk and neo-psychedelia"Classic Rock Magazine (Germany) "An irresistible musical essence of Nordic Noir"Louder Than War "Their sneering vocals and wickedly distorted guitar riffs are pure Jesus & Mary Chain, the ominous, echo-drenched atmospherics recall Sisters of Mercy, and the overall and very palpable sense of fear and dread harken back to Faith-era Robert Smith"BlackBook "A narcotic netherworld where songs of a sinister beauty emerge from a psychedelic haze... absolutely brilliant"Thee Psychedelicatessen Psychedelic post-punk outfit Mayflower Madame present their darkly sinister single 'Swallow', the second taste of their new album 'Prepared for a Nightmare', a dark and distinctive blend of post-punk, shoegaze and psychedelia. French label Only Lovers Records will be releasing this long-play in collaboration with Portland's Little Cloud Records and Parisian label Icy Cold Records.

This follows lead track 'Vultures', partly inspired by the art of George Grosz and Hieronymus Bosch with video directed by Astrid Serck. She recreates the mood of the song by visualizing a hypnotic, partly controlled chaos filled with tension with a combination of collage animations and video imagery, including live footage of the band and a dance sequence by Norwegian drag artist Remi Johansen Hovda.

Hailing from Oslo, Norway, Mayflower Madame is Trond Fagernes (vocals, guitars, bass), Håvard Haga (guitars) and Ola J. Kyrkjeeide (drums). "Swallow is the second single from our upcoming album, showing a dreamier, more pop-oriented side of the band compared to the darker, more hard-edged first single "Vultures". We have not really been conscious about it while writing the song, but it kind of sounds like inspirations from shoegaze and surf-psych have been blended in with our more typical aspects of psych-noir and post-punk. However, we still feel that it's true to our "signature sound" while also contributing to the upcoming album's variety and wholeness. 'Swallow' is a love song - it's about the dependence and fragility one might feel in a relationship - involving both a fear of and a desire for submission," says Trond Fagernes.

Mayflower Madame formed in 2011, at first rehearsing in a desolate industrial building where they shared space with a carwash company. Their hazy, smoke-laden sound was conceived naturally amidst these gritty surroundings. The band soon recorded a four-track demo. leading them to be named 'Unsigned Band of the Week' on one of Norway’s biggest radio stations.   After a few years of playing shows across Scandinavia, carefully honing their sound along the way, Mayflower Madame finally released their debut album 'Observed in a Dream' in 2016. Through eight tracks of theatrical psych-gaze exploration and dark romanticism, the album conveyed the wintry feeling of their home country – icy and gloomy, haunting and majestic.

Tours in North America and Europe followed, followed by the 'Premonition' EP in 2018, a 4-track collection of apocalyptic love songs, and more touring and festival circuit in France, Germany, UK and Eastern Europe between recording sessions for their second LP. Mayflower Madame has shared the stage with bands like Killing Joke, Moon Duo, Night Beats, Psychic Ills, Froth, The Underground Youth, Crocodiles, Cosmonauts and La Femme.

Their much-anticipated second album 'Prepared For A Nightmare' sees the band delving even deeper into their own distinctive blend of psych-noir and post-punk with elements of shoegaze and noise-rock. As of February 25, 'Swallow' is available across digital platforms, including iTunes and Spotify. 'Prepared for a Nightmare' will be released on March 27 and can be pre-ordered at https://mayflowermadame.bandcamp.com/album/prepared-for-a-nightmare. CREDITS Trond Fagernes - vocals, guitars, bass Håvard Haga - guitars Ola J. Kyrkjeeide - drums Kenneth Eknes - synth on all tracks except 2, 6 & 7 Petter G. Marberg - bass on track 1 & 10 Songs written by Mayflower Madame / Trond Fagernes Recorded by Trond Fagernes & Ola J. Kyrkjeeide at MaMa Studio, Oslo Mixed by Bob de Wit (track 1, 5, 6 & 7), James Aparicio (track 2, 3 & 4) and James Trevascus (track 8, 9 & 10) Mastered by Rafael Anton Irisarri at Black Knoll Studio, New York TOUR DATES March 27th – Desert Stars Festival – Joshua Tree March 28th – Bar Sinister – Los Angeles March 29th – Whistle Stop – San Diego March 30th – Lunchbox – Phoenix March 31st – TBA April 1st – TBA April 2nd – Lo-Fi – Seattle April 3rd – Out From The Shadows Festival – Portland April 4th – Elbo Room – Oakland

Mayflower Madame photos by Sven Santelmann. Live photos by H.N. James (Punk Rock Photography) Keep up with Mayflower Madame Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram | YouTube | Soundcoud | Spotify | Booking | Press contact Keep up with Only Lovers Records Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | Spotify | LinkedIn | Email

News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR