• The Vibe

Rude Audio presents 'Don't Follow Me', second single off 'Street Light Interference' LP

"Absolutely loving this, thats brand new and extremely good for you" Don Letts, BBC 6 Music Radio

"Thank you very much for the Rude Audio it's all rather lovely... This is indeed amazing" Andrew Weatherall

"Our sensory delight zone is tickled under the influence of haunting Carpenter-esque vibes, encapsulated in warped disco. This feels like life in the LFO zone – surreal. This would be fitting as sonic accompaniment to various scenes in ‘Black Mirror: Bandersnatch’ or even Guy Ritchie’s movie Snatch’ The Spill Magazine

"Insofar as modern players on the electronic music scene go, Rude Audio number among the most dynamic, stirring the pot to concoct blends that transcend sub-genre, weaving brilliant ethnic hues into their musical fabric" Big Takeover Magazine

"This is top notch electronica... Rude Audio present an interesting ethnic-inspired urban soundscape reflecting south and east London dancefloors, but so infectious as to catch the ear of the astute listener anywhere. Dub, leftfield house and middle eastern elements mix together in a trance-laden fabric suited for chilling or movement" Louder Than War

London electronic music outfit Rude Audio present 'Don't Follow Me', the second single off their forthcoming album 'Street Light Interference', which releases in mid-July via Zirkus Records.

The core of the collective are Mark Ratcliff (whose releases have been played by the likes of Andrew Weatherall, Laurent Garnier, Kris Needs, Don Letts, Graeme Park and Rob de Bank, as well as BBC Radio 6's Nemone and Gideon Coe), Owain Lloyd (mixing engineer for everyone from Oakenfold and Weller to Niall Horan) and Dave [The Rave] Brennan (ex The End recordings and key player at tech house dons' label, Bombis).

"Don't Follow Me is an attempt to fuse the tension of a John Carpenter soundtrack with the kind of lo fi, filthy acid house vibe found in the grungiest of warehouse raves," says Mark Ratcliff.

This follows up lead track 'Repeat Offender', where dub meets something modern and shiny, uptown, for a bit of a cavort. The accompanying video was created by Ali Ingle and stars Matty Ratcliff.

The 'Street Light Interference' LP runs the gamut from dub to techno and features four original tracks and four remixes of tunes from their latest 'Rude Redux' EP, which was premiered by Andrew Weatherall on his radio show. That release followed up their 'Rudest' EP.

Based in South London, Rude Audio has a history of putting on fantastic underground parties, releasing the occasional dubby Balearic opus, engineering for the disparate likes of Paul Weller, Lemon Jelly and Royal Blood and generally mooching about anywhere that doesn’t have bouncers or operate a dress code.

"I had half an eye on some of the underground but outdoor summer parties proliferating in my manor when pulling together various elements on the release, although the likelihood of engaging with a blissful, sun kissed milieu in South London during July and August is less likely than engaging with a dirty rave in a damp squat, where everyone’s complaining about why we aren’t having a summer this year," says Mark Ratcliff. The new album also involves one of the band’s all-time favourite remixers - Bedford Falls Players. The remix from main man Mark Cooper has taken 'To The Sun' into a dark room and given it a right old working over. The result is brutal but gorgeous. The LP also features the enigmatic and mysterious Fearless Few Collective, who put a few songs before various wringers. Kitsch Kub’s remix of 'Rumble On Arab St' is the sound of a gorgeous summer’s evening whilst Valtow’s dub takes the same tune into stunning Balearic waters. Zar takes a leaf from Bedford Falls Players book, giving 'Pipeline Screaming' a royal working over. leaving it a quivering techno/dub hybrid.

Anyone who enjoys more open minded dance floors, or even has hazy memories of the transition from a Balearic ethos to something more progressive minded on 90s dancefloors, will find something on here to float their boat

'Street Light Interference' will be released on July 15 across online stores, such as iTunes, and streaming platforms like Spotify.Already now, the album can be pre-ordered via Bandcamp.

CREDITS Music by Mark Ratcliff except 'Repeat Offender' co-written with Michael Mikklesen 'Rude Mission', 'To The Sun', 'Rumble On Arab St' co-written with Owain Lloyd Produced and arranged by Mark Ratcliff Engineered by Mark Ratcliff and Owain Lloyd Mixed by Owain Lloyd Mastered by Chris at Blacklisted

TRACK LIST 01 Repeat Offender 02 Don't Follow Me 03 Rude Alert 04 Rude Mission 05 Rumble On Arab St (Kitsch Kub remix) 06 To The Sun (Bedford Falls Players Hugest Remix) 07 Rumble On Arab St (Valtow Dub) 08 Pipeline Screaming (Zar Remix)

Photos by Ali Ingle

Keep up with Rude Audio Website | Facebook | Bandcamp | Twitter | Soundcloud | YouTube | Instagram | Spotify | iTunes | Press contact

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR Website | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | LinkedIn | Email

News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR