• The Vibe

The Pull of Autumn releases 'Small Colors' LP

"Such a gem – like the sonic lovechild of The Cars and Talking Heads with a contagiously frenetic Bowie-esque backdrop. This sound would not be out of place in any decade from the 80s until now. A genuine and welcome earworm"Big Takeover Magazine

"Better to travel well than to arrive... this band is not about merely travelling, this is exploration down the unbeaten paths of the glorious unknown"The Swindonian

"Beautiful... Pure and simple. Lyrically it is emotional and thought-provoking. It has perfect instrumentation and musicality. A great deal of care has gone into this"Spill Magazine

"Impressive...  it’s a doozy you must hear. Just the perfect element of organized chaos in sonic form" – The Record Stache

Artist images by Matthew Darrow

Art rock collective The Pull of Autumn have eleased their new 'Small Colors' album via Boston label RBM Records. The collective's third album - a tribute to many moods, ranging from British folk music and post-rock to jazz, ambient and electronic music. The album's title represents a return to a minimalist approach towards creating music.

This long-play involves members of 4AD artists Dif Juz, Rough Trade artists Johanna's House of Glamour and Butterfly Child, , Epic 45, Boyracer, Perfect Disaster, Insides, Germany’s Seasurfer, Japan’s Broken Little Sister, Orange Cake Mix, vocalists Mina Hunt and Jeanne Batting, Colin Darrow and Matthew Darrow.

Based between Boston and Rhode Island, The Pull of Autumn is a ‘super group’ of sorts, with songs orbiting around Daniel Darrow from Johanna’s House of Glamour and Luke 'Skyscraper' James (Fashion), but also involves numerous emerging and notable musicians from the local music scene and from far abroad.

"Many artists reached out to contribute to make this album a full range of interpretations of sound .It’s thrilling to have all these amazing artists join together to create 16 songs that a channel the same voice - A love of creating beauty, even in these difficult times," says Daniel Darrow.

Earlier, The Pull of Autumn teased several singles from the album, including 'Holiday' featuring Orange Cake Mix (a.k.a. James Rao) and 'Shipwrecked on Aspirin' featuring Luke ‘Skyscraper’ James, frontman of British new wave pioneers (and I.R.S. recording artist) Fashion.

The first is as Bee Gees' track, recorded as a tribute to the 60s with an added electronic element, melding 60s pop into today’s post-rock movement. ‘Shipwrecked on Aspirin’ harkens to post-punk of the past with the introduction of electronic music added in, much in the spirit of Brian Eno’s work with Roxy Music.

This new album follows the 2019 'Afterglow' LP, which involved members of Throwing Muses, Boyracer, Seasurfer, Orange Cake Mix, Johanna's House of Glamour, Hood, and Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, and the debut album 'The Pull of Autumn' (2018).

As of September 18, 'Small Colors' is available digitally everywhere, including Apple Music and Spotify. It will also be available online directly from the band, as well as on CD (packaged in a gatefold 7-inch sleeve) via Bandcamp..


'Holiday' written by Barry Gibb

Guitar and vocals by James Rao 'Orange Cake Mix'

Keyboards by Daniel Darrow

Bass by Bruce MacLeod

Album cover painting by Joyce Raskin White



News story provided by Shameless Promotion PR